Image

The other day I was sitting in a bus, and I had left my earphones behind at home, which was a huge mistake because I could hear everyone talking around me. I was particularly unfortunate that day because I was sitting in front of two very loud teenage girls. By the end of that journey, I knew every detail about their love lives, their friend count on Facebook and the names of their most hated rivals in college.

I just wanted to write about this because I just cannot understand why there has to be so much talk. Silence is really underrated. The quietest people I know have always been looked at as weirdos of some sort, like as though it’s abnormal to talk less or something. I, for one, think the world of such people. You know, because even if they have not very good opinions about certain matters or of certain people, they keep those opinions to themselves. Also, it’s a really great way of appearing clever when one might not really be. And this is the truth. People who don’t really know me always think I’m really smart. If I was a big talker, they’d realize what a nincompoop I really am.

I’m not against talking in general, of course. I like listening to someone when they say things that are nice or witty or informative or inspiring. If we’re talking in order to be heard, we have to be careful about the things we say. If you’re talking to be heard, don’t say shit about other people and don’t say extremely personal things about your life and don’t talk a great deal of things you don’t really know about.

There’s this person that I know who’s actually kinda nice and all. But she talks way too much. So then, that’s all that anyone has to say about her, that she talks too much and she’s so annoying. And what eventually happens when you talk too much is you end up saying things about people, and you end up spreading rumours, and negative things happen because of that. Also, if you’re doing all the talking, you’re not doing a whole lot of listening.

That’s about it. I don’t really know how to conclude so I’ll just add a quote from Lincoln.

“Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt.”

